Clerk of the Court

The Clerk of the Superior Court keeps court records and collects all fees, fines, bonds, and restitutions. The Office of the Clerk is the first stop to initiate any superior court action regarding child support, civil (passport, marriage license, protection order, divorce/dissolution, legal records), criminal (appeals), probate (guardianship and conservatorship), mental health, tax, or domestic relations matters (conciliation and mediation, paternity/maternity). The superior court also oversees juvenile court filings including adoption, dependency, severance, and delinquency actions.

Records Request

To request access to court records or to have the clerk’s office perform a search for you, complete the following form and submit it to the Clerk’s office. 

Submission Options: 

  • Fax: (928) 337-2771 
  • Drop by: 70 West 3rd South, Saint Johns, Arizona (three blocks south of Main Street) 
  • Or include a check or money order for fees and mail the request to Annell Hounshell, Clerk of the Apache County Superior Court, PO Box 365, St. Johns, AZ 85936. 

Specify exactly what you need from the file, and provide as much information as possible to help us find the file (name, birth date, SSN, case number, date, or time period). Note on the form if you would like us to call you to come and pick up the materials in person. 

Online Court Records: Apache County Superior Court cases since 1995 are accessible online at no charge. Visit the Arizona Judicial Branch Public Access to Court Information website to search the database. 

Search Court Records in Person: You may come to the courthouse and search the records yourself at no charge. Our hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays, except government holidays. To avoid extensive wait times, please call ahead with your case file so we can retrieve it from storage.

Document Filing & Recording

The Apache County Superior Court does not accept fax filings of court documents. Please submit case related documents by mail or in person at the courthouse.

Search Fees

The court provides essential information without a charge. Essential information includes case numbers, party names, and filing dates. We charge a research fee for all case information requests above and beyond these essential items. 

We accept search fees via cash, check, money order, Visa, or Mastercard. 

  • Searching court records online - No charge 
  • Searching court records in person at the courthouse - No charge 
  • Research performed by the clerk’s office - $30 
  • Copies of file document - $0.50 per page 
  • Certification - $30 per document 
  • Mailing or faxing search results - $7.00 
  • Mail search results if SASE provided with search request form - No charge

Court-Ordered Financial Obligation

If you are required to pay fines, penalties, fees, or other financial reparations as a result of a judgment of this court and unable to pay, bring this information to the attention of court staff or the judge. In certain circumstances, payments may be made over time or we may consider other alternatives. Do not ignore your responsibility to pay, as this may result in additional penalties and costs to you.


Why are record searches usually requested?
To get copies of a marriage license or divorce decree, do background checks, obtain family information, child support payment history, or criminal payment history. 

Who needs to submit a Request for Access to Court Records form?

What records can I search or request?
Any public records, including juvenile delinquency, criminal, probate, guardianship, domestic, and civil cases. 

What records can not be searched by the public?
Adoption, mental health, and all other dependency records are closed to the public unless approved by a judge. To request a release of a sealed file, provide a written letter of request to the judge, state specifically what your interest is in the file and what documents you want. Please allow some time for the judge to review and approve or deny the request. 

How long does it typically take for the Clerk’s office to respond to a record request search?
Three to five days depending on number of requests received and whether the case file is in storage. 

How will I know when my search results are ready?
Requests made via fax or mail will be sent to you through the USPS. For pickup at the courthouse, we will contact you when they are ready.

How do I apply for a marriage license?
A license may be obtained from the Clerk of the Court or any of the four Justice Courts in Apache County. When applying, both parties will need to be present; both will need a valid picture ID, (example: driver’s license, state issued ID, etc.); and the license fee will need to be paid. Currently the fee is $83.00.

How do I apply for a passport?
Applications for passports may be obtained from the Clerk of the Court’s Office or online. Instructions and requirements for passports may also be found there. A passport photo is required along with your original birth certificate. An application, photo, and a birth certificate are required for each person you are seeking a passport for. After application(s) have been filled out and photos have been obtained, you may bring the application(s) along with the photos and your birth certificate to the Clerk’s Office Monday through Thursday between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Be sure to have your driver’s license or state issued ID with you to prove your identity and also a copy of it. If you are applying for a passport for your minor child, the child and both parents will need to be present. If only one parent can be present, then you’ll need an affidavit of consent from the absent parent in order to apply. Please contact the Clerk’s Office with any questions.

Can I view and get copies of court records?
Yes, unless it is a sealed case. Records can be requested by filling out a public records request. This service is free if you come into the office and search the records yourself and/or if you know the case number of the records you seek. If you do not have the case number, a search fee of $30.00 is due. There is also a copy charge of $.50 per page. If the documents need to be certified, there is an additional fee of $30.00 per document.

How do I pay my fines and fees?
Payments can be made in person at the Clerk’s Office, over the phone, or by mail. Acceptable forms of payment are personal check with valid driver’s license, money order, credit/debit card, or cash if paying in person. Please have your case number available when making payments.

Is there a filing fee to file my case?
Most cases filed in the Superior Court have an associated filing fee. You can find out more about filing fees specific to your county online.

What is the difference between a juror questionnaire and a jury summons?
Juror questionnaires are sent out twice a year to Apache County residents to assist the Court in forming a Jury Pool. When received, they should be filled out and sent back to the Clerk’s Office within 10 days of receiving them or filled out online. They are not summoning you to jury duty at that time.

Jury summons are sent to prospective jurors requesting them to appear for jury duty on a specific date. If you receive a summons, please be sure to call the Clerk’s Office the night before you are to appear to make sure the trial is still going. Trials can be cancelled at the last minute.

Contact Information

Apache County Superior Court House
70 W. 3rd South St.
PO Box 365
St Johns, AZ 85936 

P: (928) 337-7550
F: (928) 337-2771
St. Johns, Arizona 85936

Office of the Clerk Staff

  • Annell Hounshell
    Clerk of the Court
    P: (928) 337-7550
    Send Email
  • Delana Waite
    Chief Deputy - Clerk of the Court
    P: (928) 337-7591
    Send Email