St. Johns Justice Court

St. Johns Justice Court

The St. Johns Justice Court is presided over by the Honorable Butch L. Gunnels. Judge Gunnels is also magistrate of the St. Johns Municipal Court.

Civil & Criminal Traffic Violations

If you receive a civil traffic violation, you must take one of the following actions: 

  • Pay fines, fees, or court deposits online or via mail. You will enter a plea of “responsible.” 
  • Enroll in and complete a defensive driving course. 
  • Appear before the judge to deny or defend the violation and/or to address multiple offenses. 

If you received a criminal traffic citation, you must contact the court for instructions. 

If you are under the age of 18, you must appear in court with a parent or legal guardian.

Bond & Filing Fee Schedule

You must respond to a citation on or before your appearance date. Your appearance date is not your date of trial. Failure to respond to a criminal traffic violation by the date indicated on your citation will result in a warrant being issued for your arrest and your license suspended. If you have a civil traffic violation, a civil sanction will be imposed and your driver’s license suspended until you make payment on the civil sanction. Failure to pay or appear will result in additional monetary penalties.

St. Johns Justice Court Bond & Civil Filing Fee Schedule

Payment Methods

To make a payment on a past due account that has been escalated to the F.A.R.E. (Fines/Fees and Restitution Enforcement) program, please visit the Arizona Courts Online Payment website.

Pay Online
Pay Over the Phone or In Person
Pay by Mail

Defensive Driving School

If eligible, you may attend an approved Arizona defensive driving course on location or online. Check the eligibility requirements and find a defensive driving class

Upon completion of the defensive driving course, the ticket will be dismissed. This means that you will not pay a sanction or appear in court, and no points will be assessed to your driving record. 

Please be aware that if you choose to attend a defensive driving course, only one violation on your ticket can be dismissed. You must take care of all other violations with the court.

Request a Hearing

You can deny the offense on the ticket and request a hearing date. To request a hearing, please call us at (928) 333-4613 for more information. We may impose additional fees for a trial/hearing.

Small Claims Court

  • Small claims lawsuits (amounts less than $2,500) may be filed for money debts, property damage, personal injury, or cancellation of a contract. 
  • Attorneys may not participate unless all parties agree. 
  • There is no right to a jury trial in a small claims case. The judge hears the parties and makes a determination. 
  • Neither party may appeal a decision in a small claims case. 
  • “Date of Service” refers to the date a party is served (receives and signs for paperwork) with case documents. Defendant is generally served by the court via certified mail, or the plaintiff may serve the defendant by certified mail. 
  • A complaint or answer may be served by a constable or private process server at the party’s own expense, and proof must be provided to the court that the other party has received the documents. 
  • Court staff may not provide legal interpretations, offer advice, do legal research, or complete forms. 
  • There is a $25 fee to file the complaint. If you wish to have the court serve the defendant via certified mail, we charge an additional $8 fee. 
  • The defendant’s mailing address must be provided if the plaintiff wishes to have the court serve the complaint. The defendant has 20 calendar days from the date they are served (30 days if they are out of state) to file an answer. There is a $24 fee to file an answer. The defendant must also serve the plaintiff with a copy of the answer. 

If the defendant files an answer, a hearing date will be scheduled, and both parties notified in writing. At the hearing, both the plaintiff and defendant have the opportunity to present their case. If the Defendant does not file an answer, the Plaintiff may file an Affidavit of Default with the court and serve the defendant with a copy. The defendant has 10 days to respond. If the defendant responds, a hearing will be set. If the defendant does not respond, the plaintiff may file a Motion for Entry of Judgment without Hearing and a Statement of Costs with the court. A judgment may be entered by the court; this does not require the plaintiff’s appearance at a hearing. 

The defendant will be advised to contact the plaintiff directly regarding any settlement discussions. If an agreement is reached prior to the hearing date, the plaintiff should notify the court in writing that the case was dismissed.

Order of Protection

Please refer to the following documents when filing for a protection order.